Repossessed:

L A copy of Ct. Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV)
cancellation of plate receipt. REQUIRED

AND Any one of the next

2. Letter from the finance company stating the date

vehicle was taken and that it was not redeemed by

- you and the year, make, model & Vehicle
Identification # of the vehicle

3. Copy of bill of sale or auction papers that shows the
year, make, model & Vehicle Identification # of the
vehicle and date of sale.

Donated:

1. A copy of Ct. Depariment of Motor Vehicles
cancellation of plate receipt. REQUIRED AND

2. Letter from charitable organization on the
organization’s. letterhead, stating that the vehicle
was donated, the date of the donation and the year,

make, model & vehicle identification # of the
vehicle,

In accordance with federal law and the United States
Department of Agriculture policy, this institution is
prohibited from discrimination on the basis of race,
color, national origin, sex, age or disability. (Not all
prohibited bases. apply to all programs.) To file a
~ complaint of discrimination, write the USDA Director,

Office of Civil Rights, 1400 Independence Avenue,
S.W., Washington D.C., 20250-9410, or call 800-795-
3272 (voice) or 202-720-6382

DEADLINE FOR PRESENTATION
OF PROOF FOR ADJUSTMENT

Ct. Department of Motor Vehicles does not inform towns
when plates are refurned nor when vehicles are sold,
registered out of state or otherwise disposed of. It is the
taxpayer’s responsibility . to provide the required
decumentation within the time limits as provided
under applicable Ct. law.

Assessment Date Deadline for

Presentation of Proof

October 1, 2016 December 31, 2018
October 1, 2015 December 31, 2017
October 1, 2014 December 31, 2016

The proof for adjustments (“prorates™  of ‘motor

assessment date. Example: The owner of a vehicle
with a bill with an assessment date of October 1, 2013
has until December 31, 2015 to present all proofs of
disposal. ‘

Taxpayer failure to provide all forms of proof for
adjustment within the 27 months of the assessment
date forfeits the right to an adjustment of the bill by Ct.
law (12-71c.)

vehicle list must be presented within 27 months of the -

Appeals Process

Questions about the motor vehicle appeal process should be
directed to the Assessor’s Office at 860-642-6475

CLAIMED EXEMPT DUE TO ACTIVE
MILITARY SERVICE

Out of state resident based in Connecticut must file Soldiers &
Sailers Civil Relief Act form annually with the Assessor’s
Office. . . S T

Residents of Connecticut based out of state must file >&<a .
Duty form annually with the Assessor’s Office. Forms are
available in the Assessor’s Office. . :

Motor Vehicle

- CREDIT
IF
WAS

_ REPOSSESSED?
DONATED?
TOTALED?

- STOLEN?

SOLD?

Assessor’s Office
7 Meetinghouse Hill Road
- Franklin, CT 06254
Phone: (860) 642-6475
Fax (860) 642-6606
E-Mail franklinassessor@99main.com
Office Hours ‘
12:00 — 3:00 PM Tuesday
6:00 — 8:00 PM Tuesday Evening
. Tharsday 9:00-3:00PM




‘ What if I;

Transferred Plates:

If you transferred your plates to a new vehicle, you are not
entitled to an adjustment. In essence, the adjustment follows
the license plate. The original bill for the old vehicle should
be paid. A supplemental list will generate a ill for the new
vehicle with a credit (exemption) for the period that the old
vehicle was no longer owned. ,

Supplemental tax bills will be mailed January 1%,

Registered my car after October 1, 2016?
Vehicles registered after October 1, 2016 will be on the

Supplemental motor. vehicle list, as described below.

Supplemental tax bills will be mailed in January and are due
January 1, 2018.

Supplemental Motor Vehicle Tax Bitls
Supplemental motor vehicle bills cover motor vehicles
registered after October 1, 2016 and before Aungust 1, 2017,

Motor vehicle taxes are prorated from the month registered

through September at the following percentages of assessed
valug. .

Month New Transfer % of

Acquired Licenge License Assessment
Plate Code Plate Code

October . A . N - 100
November B 0] 91.7
December C P 83.3
January D Q 75.0
February E. SR 66.7
March F 8. 58.3
April G T 50.0
May H- U 41,7
June 1 v 33.3
July J W 25.0

Adjustments to Motor Vehicle Bills

From the category which best describes your situation entitled
“What If My Vehicle Was™ Forward the appropriate two
forms of proofto: .
: Assessor’s Office

Town of Franklin®

7 Meetinghouse Hill Rd

Franklin, CT 06254

Phone: (860) 642-6475

Please. note: ' A Cormecticut Department of Motor Vehicles
(DMV) cancellation of license plate receipt does not show
that you have disposed of the vehicle, Therefore a second
Jorm of proof is required to support an adjustment.

Copies of Ct. Department of Motor Vehicles cancellation of
plate receipt may be requested from Ct. Department of Motor

<anHnm.eE<vnoawgoamgi.ﬁonm:m.m.ov .M.m.w,-ﬂuaoﬂ
at www.dmvct.org, :

What if My Vehicle Was?

Sold:

. 1. A copy of Connecticut Department of Motor Vehicles

cancellation of plate receipt REQUIRED - -
AND any one of the next

2. A copy of the bill of sale with the year, make, model &
Vehicle Identification # as well as the buyer's signature.

3. A copy of the new owner's _..mwqumacb or the nmew
owner’s title with the issue date, year, make, model &
Vehicle Identification # of the vehicle.

4. Acopy of your title m_u.oimum transfer,

5. Aletter fifom your insurance agent or noSwmb.w stating the -
date the " insurance was canceiled, the reason.-for.

cancellation and the year, make, model & Vehicle
Identification # of the vehicle.

m..m.BEQ.U% .nnmgmnoamoa.gm ow u&nwnnmg.&
bottom of form. , : -

7. Reverse side of registration renewal form — fransfer of
ownership form.

Totaled/Funked:

1. A copy of Ct. Department of Motor Vehicles
cancellation of plate receipt. REQUIRED

AND any one of the next

2. A letter from your insuramce agent of company
stating that the vehicle was totaled, the date of the
accident and the year, make, model & Vehicle
Tdentification # of the vehicle.

3. Dated ._.wommnﬁ from junk dealer to whom the vehicle
was sold and the year, make, model & Vehicle
Identification # of the vehicle.

istered out of State:

1. A copy of the out of state Rmmm.qﬁmow or title.
(Showing the issue date year make model &
Vehicle Identification # of the vehicle.)

REQUIRED AND

2. Acopy of Ct. Department of Motor Vehicles
(IMYV) cancellation of plate receipt.

.wn&ml..

I. A copy of Ct. Department of Motor Vehicles
(DMYV) cancellation of plate receipt.

NHO.GHWHU AND

2. A statement from your insurance agent or company
stating that vehicle was stolen and not recovered,
date of theft and the year, make, model & vehicle
identification # of the vehicle.

Taxed in Wrong Town:

If you lived in a different Connecticut town on
October 1, 2015 please provide: .

1. Proof of residency prior to October 1 in form of
Field Card, (Assessor’s Office), Voter
Identification Card, (Registrar of Voters), lease
agreement of rental unit

OR

2. Written correction from the Department of Motor
Vehicles. (DMV)



